Football | Fall Sports | Bishop Watterson

Victory, Tradition, Consistency

Schedule and Results

Dan Bjelac, Head Coach

 614-268-8671 ext. 306

Jake Winters announces his intent to play football at Wittenberg University.
Dispatch 2/4/16  - Area players who signed Wednesday with college programs.
Dylan Murphy has announced his intent to football at Lafayette College
Michael Sch
weitzer has announced his intent to football at Ashland University

Div. III Regional Semifinal: Jackson 14, Eagles 0
Div. III Regional Quarterfinal: Eagles 28, Hamilton Township 3
All-State Special Mention - TE Michael Schweitzer and LB Sam Lewis
All-State First-team – DE Adam Gilles
OHSAA All-Central District Team:  First-team offense: Tight end–Michael Schweitzer (Watterson) 6-4, 226
First-team defense: Linemen–Adam Gilles (Watterson) 6-2, 208, Sam Lewis (Watterson) 6-1, 215
Special mention: Michael Auddino (Watterson); Chase Towns (Watterson)
Honorable mention: Stephen Marcos (Watterson)

OHSAA football playoffs 2015: Division III, Region 9 bracket
OHSAA High-school football | All-Central District teams The 2015 Associated Press All-Central District football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:
Dispatch 11/7/15 Watterson among winners as playoffs start
Dispatch 11/7/15 Watterson's second-half explosion fuels victory
Dispatch 11/14/15 - Jackson (10-1) vs. Watterson (6-4), at Chillicothe
ThisWeek News 11/12/15 Football team set to face Jackson

Football Captains - Matthew Kent, Stephen Markos, Sam Lewis
ThisWeek News 10/27/15 - Football squad eyes playoff berth
ThisWeek News - Football team set to face Hawks

Row 1: Dylan Hummer Nick Melaragno Patrick Frecker Michele Auddino Andy Cotter Jacob Winters Chase Towns Adam Gilles Stephen Markos Sam Lewis Matthew Kent Dylan Murphy Michael Schweitzer Joel Silleck Mike Hardesty Jack Yersavich Matt Clark Nikolaus Wilimitis Donovan Kelly David Savely
Row 2: Connor Hoyng Nick Rocci Sam Scully Adam Kasun Jack Jeffries J.C. Mautino Ethan Bogan Connor Busch Michael Troutman Sam Furrer Nick Giesler Chris Carter Will Davis Al Erney Hayden Paul Nick Infante Will Fortkamp Max Bratka Michael Massinople Jack Best Nick Bowen Anthony Mershad Ricky Alvarado
Row 3: Casey Calhoun Connor Whitacre Cort Marbaugh Shannon Jones Evan Markos Riley Fortkamp Mitchell Kubic Nicholas DePalma Nicolas Stevenson Jacob Bruening Kyle Simmonds Zarek Rushevics Holden Jones Charles Spencer Peregrine Finnegan Frank Jobko Nathan Meyer Kyle Naderhoff Colin Murphy Ethan Siegel Kevin Laming Luther Claytor Paul Hamlet Carson Peck
Row 4: Emma Carlin Gavrielle Pitones Madison Eagle Maria Santa-Emma Joseph Decaminada Nathan Altier Shane Merklin Cameron Headlee Dominic Elmo Conner Calhoun Jack Frecker Cole Andrews Billy Minadeo Robert Seipel David Butz Keiler Rodil Meghan Carroll Anna Dunham Eliot Stevens
Row 5: Justin Weltin Jack Poppe Brian Kennedy Jack Mautino John Wallace Vinny DeMaria Shawn Dean Head Coach Dan Bjelac Patrick Birch Marc Graf Ron Benjamin Leonard Mills Jim Rayl Zach Hollis Erick Boucher Nippy Prease

Row 1: Brandon Infante, Matthew Rhomberg, Jimmy Patton, Nate Best, Ethan Foltz, Nate Johnson, Zachary Kasun, Cam Stellar, Grant Holsinger, Maxwell Balyeat, Brandon Real, Drew Davis, Ryan Roark
Row 2: Drake McAninch, Zach Sawyer, Sam Greiner, Jack Warner, Grant Horvath, Giovanni Carmona, Sam Oliver, Eli Bump, Nick Jannot, Antonio Auddino, William Morrison, Adam Grden, Dillon Leedy
Row 3: Jack Mautino, Patrick Birch, Zach Hollis, Vinny DeMaria, Mike Roark

John Pirrmann has signed to play football at Harvard University. more

All District - Michael Harper and John Pirrmann
All CCL - Danny Alu, Tyler Bair, Matt Froehle, Jack Haley, Alex Loscko and Sam Maglicic

Map to Football Field - (Hagely Field - Old North High School) 100 Arcadia Avenue Columbus, 43202


Row 1:
Stephen Golonka
Michael Harper
Alex Loscko
Sam Maglicic
Matt Froehle
Jack Haley
John Pirrmann
Ben Kaminski
Alex Hawkins
Danny Alu
Teddy Walter
Tyler Bair
Adam Entler

Row 2:
Chase Towns
Adam Gilles
Jacob Winters
Michael Schweitzer
Dylan Murphy
Brian Davidson
Hunter Spencer
Collin Ruegg
Luke Nutter
Stephen Markos
Sam Lewis
Matthew Kent
Joel Silleck
Matt Clark
Row 3:
Hayden Paul
Connor Busch
Nick Giesler
Chris Carter
Dylan Hummer
Donovan Kelly
Andy Cotter
Jack Yersavich
Michael Auddino
Nik Wilimitis
David Savely
Will Davis
Al Erney
John Britt
Max Holcomb

Row 4:
Makala Petersen
Carla Auber
Connor Hoyng
J.C. Mautino
Jack Best
Ricky Alvarado
Max Bratka
Michael Troutman
Will Fortkamp
Sam Furrer
Ethan Bogan
Adam Kasun
Michael Massinople
Sam Scully
Anthony Mershad
Nick Bowen
Jessie Graf
Maria Santa-Emma

Row 5:
Leonard Mills
Jim Rayl
John Wallace
Zach Hollis
Dan Forson
Dan Bjelac
Jack Poppe
Melanie Smith
Gina Greenhalgh
Makaela O’Reilly
Madison Eagle
Pauline Carroll
Erick Boucher
Ted Wierzbicki
Ron Benjamin
Zach Krajkowski
Brian Mong
Marc Graf
Nippy Prease

Row 1: Holden Jones, Kyle Simmonds, Frank Jobko, Charlie Spencer, Jacob Bruening, Nick DePalma, Riley Fortkamp, Nick Stevenson, Perry Finnegan, Joe Quinn Row 2: Thomas Clark, Nate Meyer, Kyle Naderhoff, Colin Murphy, Mitchell Kubic, Connor Whitacre, Cade George, Ethan Siegel, Evan Markos, Kyle Wilgus Row 3: Dominic Elmo, Jacob Passino, Casey Calhoun, Connor Calhoun, Paul Hamlett, Luther Claytor, Billy Minadeo, Cameron Headlee, Cole Andrews, Shane Merklin, Jacob Wakefield Row 4: David Butz, Carson Peck, Jack Frecker, Cort Marbaugh, Robbie Seipel, Eric Entler, Joey Decaminada III, Nathan Altier, Jacob Zerkle, Thomas Zerkle Row 5: Asst. Coach Dominic Clegg, Asst. Coach Phil Rasor, Head Coach Brian Kennedy, Asst. Coach Nippy Prease, Asst. Coach Shawn Dean Not Pictured: Asst. Coach Shawn O’Reilly

2013 CCL Champions

2013 Football Signing Day
Andy Elberson has committed to playing football at Butler University and Andrew Lorenz has committed to playing football at Ohio Dominican University.  more

In light of the passing of BWHS legend Dick Walker, we would like to share a little about him with you. Mr. Walker was the head coach of our 1966 State Championship team in a game with Upper Arlington that was the first-ever state title game televised in Ohio. As head coach at Bishop Watterson, he compiled a 51-11-3 record over seven seasons. Coach Walker went on to a position as an assistant coach on Woody Hayes' staff at Ohio State (1969-76) before joining the Pittsburgh Steelers. Walker was a member of the Steelers' coaching staff during the Super Bowl years of 1978 and 1979 and later coached in the CFL and at other high schools before retiring.

The Columbus Dispatch reported that Coach Walker, 80, succumbed to complications he suffered in a car accident Las Vegas where he resided. More

Football at Bishop Watterson is a rallying point of pride for the entire community. With over fifty years of winning teams, four state championships, seven regional championships, 21 state playoff appearances and 29 CCL championships. The team is ranked in the top ten in all time winning percentage at just over 70% in the state of Ohio, and has a storied history that the players carry with them throughout their lives.

Weight lifting starts in January, with Conditioning starting in early July and camp starts in late July and two-a-day practices run through the first 3 weeks of August.

The season runs through the beginning of November, with the final round of playoffs concluding in early December.

Football at Bishop Watterson is more than a sport. It teaches the players about toughness, teamwork, dependability, cooperation, and many more life skills which they will be able to implement in the future.

2010 Div. III Football State Champions